Cardamom Chicken

Lovely Kirsty from Shop Room Studio is coming tomorrow to interview me! I think it’s such a huge honour that somebody finds me/my work interesting enough to get in their car, drive 115km, ask me questions, take photos and then go home and blog about it! I’m so EXCITED! :)

She’s coming around lunchtime, so it’s only natural that we would eat, right? A ham sandwich… meh. So… we’re having Cardamom Chicken. and because I’m efficient, I doubled the batch and we had some for dinner tonight. I am sure it will re-heat well! :)

(don’t you just LOVE my handy phone pic of the recipe book? :)

1.5kg chicken pieces (I used a mix of breast & thigh fillet)
25 cardamom pods
4 garlic cloves, crushed
3cm piece of ginger, grated
1 1/4 cups thick plain yoghurt
1 1/2 teaspoons ground black pepper
grated rind of 1 lemon (I had none, so used lime from the tree)
2 tb ghee or oil
420ml coconut milk
6 green chillies, pricked all over
2 tb chopped coriander (cilantro) leaves
3tb lemon juice

Remove seeds from cardamom pods and crush in spice grinder or mortar & pestle. In a blender, mix garlic, ginger with 3tb yoghurt to make a paste, or if you prefer, mix with a spoon. Add the cardamom, pepper and grated lemon rind. Spread this over the chicken pieces, cover, and leave in the fridge overnight.

Heat the oil in a karhai or heavy-based frying pan over low heat and brown the chicken pieces all over. Add the remaining yoghurt and coconut milk to the pan, bring to the boil, then add the whole chillies and the coriander leaves. Simmer for 20-30 minutes or until the chicken is cooked through. Season with salte, to taste, and stir in the lemon juice.

Note: I *love* cooking my own tom yum soup from scratch, with whole chillies. It means the body of the soup is barely spicy but I serve a small chilli (or two if I’m feeling playful ;) in each bowl, for the diner to throw into the garden, or mash into the soup. Same with this curry and it’s whole chillies! I have no idea of Kirsty’s tolerance for heat, so this is a great way to please everybody. :)

4 thoughts on “Cardamom Chicken

Leave a Reply

