rock hopping

Lily and I decided to go for an impromptu walk on the beach this morning – only the tide was so high it would have been a very short walk.

So we climbed around the beautiful powdery rocks instead, with the water lapping up against them. I love the plinky plonk sounds.

I realised, as soon as I put my feet on that powdery surface, that it has quite possibly been a year since I walked on those rocks. It was a weekly occurence with my Mum, when we walked every weekday morning – all before I went back to work.

I long for those days of walking, trawling the beach, and then going home to sew all day.

Here’s a crappy mobile phone photo from a couple of years ago – I wish I had my camera this morning, but all we were meant to be doing is dropping Maisie at daycare and buying some cough medicine for my Mum. I think these school holidays we’ll be spending a lot more time down there in the mornings. Especially high tide which I love so much.

Lily brought some ochre home to make up a paint – we’re having one of her school friends over on Friday and she wants to paint the box, and then for the three of them to play in it. How two 7 year old girls and a 4 year old girl are going to fit in it, I don’t know. I’m sure they’ll work something out :)

Leave a Reply

