I’ll never lose your touch

She was standing so close behind me that I could feel what was undoubtedly her brightly flowing skirt, swishing across my calves.

A voice of the earth, deep but softly crooning, talking of what I imagined to be sacred things with her friend. I felt suddenly overwhelmed with emotion, and deeply connected with all around me. That voice seemed to tell me: “You aren’t done yet, sister. But if you must go, you will always belong here.” I stood in that line for 20 minutes, alternately fighting back tears and the urge to run out and weep against the side of the building.

I will be leaving part of my heart behind when I move into this next phase of my life-journey. I may well be over the zapping heat and doing everything with a sticky layer of sweat, but I will always maintain a connection with this most amazing part of the world.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Bec

     /  24 April 2012

    That’s beautiful Nik. Such a huge time for you and not the least of it leaving your beloved Darwin.

    Reply
  2. It’s so weird making a move like that. From a city of 8 million to a town of less than 60k, for me. And after a while it feels like I’ve been here forever.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers

